College of Arts and Sciences

Lowell W. Beineke Award

The Lowell W. Beineke Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Liberal Arts and Sciences

An image of the front and back of the Lowell W. Beineke Award.

This award, named in honor of Lowell W. Beineke, the Jack Schrey Professor of Mathematical Sciences, is conferred occasionally by the Executive Committee of the College of Arts and Sciences in recognition of outstanding contributions of scholarship, teaching, and service to the liberal arts and sciences.

Professor Beineke, who joined the Department of Mathematical Science at IPFW in 1965, is an internationally recognized expert in the fields of graph theory and combinatorics. In addition to the extensive and collaborative nature of his mathematical research, Professor Beineke has also made significant contributions through his dedication to teaching and student learning as well as through service to his department, the college, the university, and his profession. In recognition of Professor Beineke’s achievements the executive committee of the College of Arts and Sciences will occasionally bestow the Beineke award on other members of the faculty of the college who have demonstrated a similar commitment to the mission of the college and whose scholarly, teaching, and service contributions are of the highest order.

List of Recipients

2012  Lowell W. Beineke, mathematical sciences
2014  Elaine Blakemore, psychology
2017 Anne Argast, geosciences
2017 Bruce Kingsbury, biology